Select Page

Corruption free BMC? Not one corporator investigated by ACB since 2012 has been convicted

Corruption free BMC? Not one corporator investigated by ACB since 2012 has been convicted
Corruption free BMC? Not one corporator investigated by ACB since 2012 has been convicted

Representational Image. Courtesy:

Of the 12 corporators that were facing corruption charges since 2012, not even one has been convicted following an Anti-Corruption Bureau (ACB) investigation, a RTI response has revealed.

The application was filed by activist Jeetendra Ghadge, who sought information about the inquiry conducted by the agency on councillors facing corruption charges since 2012.

The ACB, in their response, revealed the names of 12 councillors who faced corruption charges in the period. However, none of them have been convicted post the agency’s investigation till date.

Two councillors, Shaikh Mohammed Siraj Shaikh (Independent) and Mahant Choubey (BJP), have been acquitted by the courts. Of the remaining ten, eight are sitting corporators.

The far as their status is concerned, the ACB is currently investigating cases against four corporators, while cases against three others are pending trial. Two other cases are pending investigation and one has been dismissed.

The pending cases, however, have done little to deter the corporators – many of whom have got their wife, husband or son to take their place. Former corporators, who also have pending cases against them, will be contesting the upcoming BMC elections.

Corporators whose relatives will contest:

Gyanmurti Sharma (Pending Trial): The BJP corporator was booked by the ACB after his driver was caught accepting bribe. His wife, Sangeeta Sharma will contest from ward 44.

Lalitha Annamalai (Open Inquiry): The independent corporator is also a part of an ongoing investigation. Her husband, Dr S Annamalai, will be contesting the elections on a Sena ticket from ward 164.

Alijan Shaikh (Open Inquiry): The former Congress corporator from Bandra has fielded his son, Tabrej Alijan Shaikh, for the upcoming polls. He will contest the election independently from ward 101.

Mohsin Haider (Open Inquiry): A case has been pending against the Congress corporator since the last five years. His wife, Meher Haider, will contest from ward 66.

Former corporators who will contest again:

Raorane Ajit Balkrishna (Open Inquiry): The former NCP corporator has got a ticket from the same party for the upcoming polls. He will contest from ward 43.

Mohan Lokegaonkar (Pending Trial): The former Shiv Sena corporator from Santacruz is facing an attempted murder case from 2010 and an assault case from 2016. He will be contesting independently.

Other corporators who were facing charges:

Suresh Awale (Discharged): The MNS corporator from Ghatkopar (East) left the party to join Shiv Sena last year.

Rajashri Palande (Pending Investigation): BJP corporator from Chembur was nabbed for taking bribe in 2015.

Cyril Peter D’Souza (Pending Investigation): Independent candidate from Malwani is facing a bribery case from 2015.

Shradha Patil (Pending Trial): MNS corporator from ward 181 is facing a bribery case from 2014.

Send this to a friend