Select Page

Election Update: 43.70% voter turnout recorded till 4 pm in Maharashtra

Election Update: 43.70% voter turnout recorded till 4 pm in Maharashtra
Election Update: 43.70% voter turnout recorded till 4 pm in Maharashtra

As of 4 pm, the highest turnout was recorded in Arjuni-Morgaon (66.53%) constituency and the lowest turnout was recorded in Kalyan East (24%)

A voter turnout of 43.70 percent was recorded till 4 pm on Monday for the Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019, according to the Election Commission (EC).

Highlights (4 pm):

Highest Voter Turnout in Maharashtra: Arjuni-Morgaon (66.53 percent)
Lowest Voter Turnout in Maharashtra: Kalyan East (24 percent)
Overall Voter Turnout in Maharashtra: 43.70 percent

Mumbai City Voter Turnout: 34.82 percent
Mumbai Suburban Voter Turnout: 36.97 percent
Thane Voter Turnout: 33.72 percent

Note: Maharashtra recorded 63.38 percent turnout in the 2014 assembly elections.

Polling began for Maharashtra’s 288 constituencies at 7 am today and will continue till 6 pm. Counting of votes will be held on October 24.

The state has nearly 9 crore voters, including one crore in the age group of 18 to 25 years. To ensure smooth polling, nearly 6.5 lakh polling personnel have been deployed at 96,661 voting booths across the state.

Meanwhile, in Mumbai, 9,894 polling stations have been set up at 1,537 locations for its 97.72 lakh registered voters. Overall, 3237 candidates are in the fray for 288 Assembly seats in Maharashtra. Of them, 334 candidates are vying for the 36 seats in Mumbai.

BJP and Shiv Sena are contesting 17 and 19 of these seats respectively while the Congress has fielded candidates in 29 seats of the city. Congress ally NCP has pitted candidates on six seats whereas one seat is being contested by Samajwadi party candidate.

Overall, in the 288-member Assembly, BJP is contesting on 164 seats, which includes candidates of smaller allies contesting on its lotus symbol, while its key ally Shiv Sena has fielded 126 candidates.

The ruling combine’s main rivals – Congress and NCP – are contesting on 147 and 121 seats respectively.

Note: The voter turnout percentage is based on the ‘provisional voter turnout’ data published by the Election Commission of India.

Send this to a friend