BJP sweeps Mira-Bhayandar civic polls: Sena second, NCP’s tally down to 0 from 26

BJP sweeps Mira-Bhayandar civic polls: Sena second, NCP's tally down to 0 from 26 1
The BJP won 61 of the 95 seats (Representational Image)

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday swept the Mira-Bhayandar Municipal Corporation election in the neighbouring Thane district, winning 61 of the 95 seats.

While BJP secured a clear majority in the poll, Shiv Sena, its ally in the state government, managed to win just 22 seats. In 2012, BJP had won 29 seats while Sena had got 14. However, the parties contested the polls independently this time.

The biggest loser in the civic polls was NCP, which failed to win a single seat. The party had won a total of 26 seats in the 2012 polls.

Congress, meanwhile, won 10 seats, its tally coming down from 19 in 2012 elections. MNS which won a seat last time, did not win any this time around.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis welcomed the results, saying it was a huge win for BJP. “Now, development is certain. We will certainly live up to the expectations of people,” he tweeted.

“Congratulations to leaders and karyakartas (workers) for spectacular win! I thank people of Mira-Bhayander for having faith in us! I assure speedy development,” he said.

The election victory is because of wave of vishwas & vikas created by PM Narendra Modi ji and team BJPs efforts!” he said.

The elections were held yesterday. There were 509 candidates in the fray for 95 seats.

The BJP was in power in the corporation in alliance with Shiv Sena.

With this result, the BJP has won second municipal body in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR) after Panvel.

With agency inputs.

Back to latest news