Select Page

Special Court pronounces sentence in 2002-03 Mumbai serial blast case

Special Court pronounces sentence in Mumbai serial blast case of 2002-03

Representational image.

Moments ago, a special Prevention of Terrorism Act (POTA) court pronounced sentence for 10 convicts in the three horrifying blasts that rocked the city between December 2002 and March 2003.

Three of the 10 accused, Saquib Nachan, Ateef Mulla, Hasib Mulla, have been given ten years of imprisonment. Wahid Ansari, Farhan Khot and Muzzamil Ansari have been awarded life imprisonment. Rest of the accused will be set free after furnishing bail bonds as per procedure because they have already undergone their maximum punishment.

The three blasts – one in a McDonald’s outlet at Mumbai Central station, second at Mulund and third at Vile Parle – collectively claimed lives of 13 and left hundreds injured.

In the verdict delivered by the POTA court on March 29, 10 accused were found guilty and 3 were acquitted of all charges.

Send this to a friend